Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Ciao Firenze. There is much love.

Things I will not miss about Florence:
  • Having no power or water in our apartment....MULTIPLE times.
  • The rain that seems to settle on the city for days at a time in the fall
  • Sad water pressure
  • Croissants made with oil instead of butter. That is just. so. wrong.
  • Unsalted bread (a tuscan thing)
  • Vodaphone
Things that I will deeply miss about Florence:
  1. Martin tossing off a pithy comment or witty remark to me on his way to the bathroom in the morning. Always nice to laugh when you start you day.
  2. Pear, Peccorino and Honey.
  3. The people. All of them!
  4. The sun. When it was out.
  5. The Arno...pretty much all the time.
  6. Turning a corner and seeing the Duomo looming majestically in the background.
  7. Gelato. GELATO. Gellllaattttooooooo!
  8. When asked: "How long are you visiting?" by locals, being able to say off-handedly "Oh, I live here" and seeing the shock on their faces. :)
  9. The lifestyle. Italians, they know what is important in life.
  10. Hosting 10 people that we met in Florence for Thanksgiving, and really being able to see that we made a life there.
So, I am writing this last blog posting from my couch in DC. I made it home last night after 18 + hours of travel on Monday (not counting the travel on Sunday from Florence to Milan). I think we would have found it harder to leave if not for the weather (deep rain the last three days), the fact that our apartment became unlivable again on Saturday while were trying to pack up before our last night in the city, and just general overall chill from the lack of heat. Spending our last few days in Italy homeless made the transition from Italy to DC less difficult, I think that we both missed central heating and a place to put our things. However, we did go out with style, and we both agreed that Thanksgiving night was probably our high water mark. When we first arrived I told Martin that my secret dream was to host a thanksgiving party for people that we would meet over the course of the next few months, because that would show that we really had made friends and built a life in Florence. However, we were not entirely sure we would succeed because of our short stay and all the travel we were planning. So, to have 10 people come over and say that they were honored, well....that was truly amazing.

So, a big final thank you to everyone we met, and everyone who came and visited and made our time in Florence magical, and everyone who followed me on this blog (Save Tall Dave!). Your comments meant the world!! And finally, a huge thank you to the city--I think I am in love with Firenze.

Ciao. And hopefully, until we meet again.
Christie

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Monaco = Sighs of Happiness

If Genova is clearly purgatory, then Monaco is definitely heaven. It makes so much sense! I mean, isn't heaven is sunny and warm, with lots of gardens?


And roses that bloom in the winter?


And men communing with nature. And seagulls.


And stairs that most definitely lead into the light....


Ahhhhh.....Monaco is perfect!!! We think that their police force exists solely to look good and escort small children across the streets.

But I digress. We arrived in Monaco (post painful stop in Genova) after an all-day train ride that featured several people getting issued tickets for the same seats (ours). Tired and somewhat confused, we fell into the welcoming arms of our hotel and were warmly embraced in a cocoon of great service, friendly concierges, and soft welcoming white cotton. Also, there was electricity and hot water! Martin and I celebrated by taking 3 showers a day and reveling in the hot water/fuzzy bathrobes. (Me: "Oh, I forgot to ask the concierge about the restaurant." Martin: "You have to put on something besides a bathrobe before you leave the room. You PROMISED.") We, in what we felt was a stoke of fabulousness, rendezvoused with Sarah and Ross in our hotel bar, and toasted all of our success in making it that far (to the hotel bar). The weekend was amazing and featured:
1. Swanky cocktails at the most expensive restaurant in town (cocktails were all we could afford...but they came with plates of chocolates! AWESOME)
2. Great french food at several restaurants (ahh French bread, how I have missed you. Oh, and the sauce. Ohhhhh the sauce....)
3. Gambling at Le Grand Casino, and WINNING money (Martin and Ross only, Sarah and I stood around and urged them on. Sarah: "Just lean in like a floozy while they bet! That is how I show my support!" Me: "I'm going to sit over there and wave!")
4. Almost driving a ferrari on the grand prix circuit (Martin: "Please don't. I don't want to send you back home in pieces. How can I explain that to your mom?")
5. An overwhelming sense of peace and beauty brought on by one of the most peaceful and beautiful places on earth.
6. Wondering which of us was going to reach for French and come up with Italian. Surprisingly, it was Martin, not me! I know, we were shocked too.
7. Oh, and did I mention the dressing up and taking of silly photos outside the Grand Casino?


This has been an amazing trip, but I think that Monaco might have been the best part. So as we gear up to say Ciao to Firenze, I must first say, Merci Beaucoup Monaco, Je t'adore!!!

Monday, November 17, 2008

Tuscan Sun and Random Commentary


I mean, everyone says that the Tuscan sun is warm. That is why they made a whole movie about being under it. But when it is cold? And grey? NOT SO MUCH. Or maybe that is because we don't have heating in our apartment so I've started wearing my (italian!) coat as a bathrobe and doing my work under all of my blankets in bed. I know, tiniest violin right now. But I'm just saying.

In other news, my ipod has almost completely died, and seems to only want to play Frank Sinatra. Sometimes. Which is not so helpful when running. Because, to be entirely truthful, I'm not so much of a runner as a "random slacker occasional jogger" and I NEED every motivation to keep my speed above a slow amble. The ipod and 80's music does help with this....when it is working. But come on, I live in the land of gelato and carbs, I NEED HELP. So, my plan to get in shape for my cocktail dress attire in Monaco was to step up my running, but that plan has gone to pot (thanks Apple! I mean, maybe I dropped the ipod in water and it is several years old but STILL). Which led to this random conversation with Martin:

Me: "I mean, I might need you to wrestle the 5th pain au chocolat away from my greedy hands so that I end up still being able to fit into my pants. We don't want a no pants situation--I feel that is not the classy image we want to present."

Martin: "Understood. But, you could just put the butter directly on your legs and slide your pants on that way. You'll end up being attractive to dogs and hungry men, but at least you will be wearing pants!"

Ahhh....good times.

In other news, random comments I've heard while being in Florence:

(while watching a rugby game) "We should start a website showing off men's necks! We can get advertisers!! And make money that way!

"Doesn't America export anything besides bad music?"

"Why are italians all so small? (shifty look) What do they know that we don't????"

"Prosecco Emergencia!" (Ok, I could have said that one. But I think it was Martin)


"Happy Honeymoon!" (said to me and Martin as we strolled through the leather market one afternoon)

And so, while Michelle and Kathleen where here I let Michelle borrow Martin to be her fake husband for awhile since I've had him all to myself so far. They are a cute (fake!) couple!!

Friday, November 14, 2008

What day is it again?

They all sort of blur together. But in a fabulous way, so I suppose it is ok! These pictures are all from a week or two ago when Martin and I dressed up and roamed the city, trying hard not to look touristy, and instead be insanely (silly?) fashionable and Italiano.


Post fun glamour shots, we have had fun friends in town recently. Highlights from the last week:
1. Amanda and Irina and....remembering crimes of passion!
2. Kathleen and Michelle....and rediscovering Rose Prosecco!
3. A guided shopping tour of....the Prada Outlet! And the Gucci Outlet! And (wait for it) FERRAGAMO! There are pictures of us touching stuff that we can never ever ever afford.
4. Gelato! Leather! (but I suppose that is everyday! I LOVE ITALY!)

Things I've learned via Italian shopping excursions: Michelle really really loves purses. And Truffles. And Kathleen (secretly) really really loves fur! And Martin can find the Smith family plaid in really odd locations. But also, it comes in an umbrella format.

Things they have learned about me: I need a LOT of gelato and sunlight to keep going. And, I should never ever ever be left alone with a pair of Prada shoes.

Anyway, this is the end of the friend invasion parts 2 and 3. Tonight we say goodbye to KBibs and Michelle Vallar, and prepare to travel and say hello to Sarah and Ross in...MONACO. As I have mentioned before, Martin and I are furiously prepping for the Monaco trip by touching fur and wearing heels....or wait, maybe that is just me?



Anyway--as I prepare to leave the land of carbs and head to the land of butter, I feel that the only victim here is my waistline. Andiammo!! Vas-y!!!

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Save Tall Dave!!


A long time ago, far far away, three college girls broke up with their boyfriends during exam time (i.e. no sleep) and were commiserating with each other. During their (admittedly random) discourse, when, after trying to burn some of their papers and consequently getting smoked out of their apartment due to a an ill-advised non opening of the chimney flue, they decided that were so few good men around, and that perhaps, just perhaps, they should be proactive in saving the ones that were left. Keeping in mind exams and lack of sleep, they decided that the best way to save one of the best men that they knew (Tall Dave) would be to make signs and chalk the street between his apartment and the main exam hall, and put flyers around the more populous places on the rest their college grounds with inspiring slogans like: "For only 23 cents a day, you too can Save Tall Dave!" and "Remember the Alamo! Save Tall Dave!"

At 2 am, this idea did in fact seem brilliant, and it wasn't as if they could re-enter their apartment until the smoke disappated anyway. So thus, on one cold December night, Save Tall Dave (STD!) was born. Also, realizing that the acronym for Save Tall Dave was indeed STD provided hours of entertainment, and more slogans along the lines of: "It's not just an STD! Save Tall Dave!"

And here we are today! While there has often been talk of a newsletter or a formal campaign, Save Tall Dave has been more of a grassroots movement of the people. So far, he's been saved on 5 continents and numerous locales.

So to Tall Dave--we, and the Uffizi Bathroom, say Thank You for being awesome! And for letting us save you all these years.

Bravo!!!

Friday, November 7, 2008

Inbound. Also, TD. You know what I mean!

Sorry for the lack of posting, but the friend cavalcade has pulled into the station. I have 2 here now, with 2 more to follow the same day these two depart, followed by the german invasion possibly next weekend, and then departure for monaco shortly thereafter in order to rendezvous with yet more (awesome!) people. Martin has fled to Rome to escape all of the visitors with a firm: "Stay out of trouble and call me if you need bail money" issued before he left. I think he thinks that he cannot trust me. He is right! :)

I feel honored to have people visiting from London, Belgium, Germany, NYC and DC on this trip....all of my friends rule! You guys are awesome, and I would like to express my thanks in the Fraternity Speak that Martin taught me last week: "Bro (pronounced "Braa"), Dude. DUDE!"

In the interim, I leave you with these questions:
1. Where will we save tall dave?
2. WHEN will we save tall dave?
3. Who is this "tall dave" person anyway, and why on earth would he NEED saving?


Ciao Ciao!!
PS: More random photos to be posted soon. Martin and I were very silly recently!

Monday, November 3, 2008

Americans are really committed....


to Halloween!
Scene: 2 girls walk into a bar. One is wearing wings and some bandages, the other is in a full on chef's costume. They sit and look around.

Chef: "I told you the Italians weren't committed!"

Angel: "What do you mean?"

Chef: "I mean, you can't put on a witches hat or a little face paint and call yourself in costume! This is what is wrong with this country--no commitment!!"

Angel (resettles wings, tapes bandage): "Ummm....you are totally right. We are clearly the normal ones here."

:)

Anyway--fortunately for us, some people (americans) in even more committed costumes involving wings, masks, and in one disturbing case, a diaper, showed up and then we did look more normal!

But it was fun nonetheless to see, and in a small way, I felt I was doing my part for my country. Someone has to dress up, and if not us, then who? (patriotic music) If not now, then when? (drum crescendo) If not random and disturbing, then how can you face yourself in the mirror? (10 gun salute) Bravo America! Way to show Italy what we are made of! :)


**Blurring is designed to make me look more angelic!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Photo Post and Random Thoughts


It's been raining in Florence recently, so our big plans of looking nice and doing stuff have sort of disintegrated into eating stuff and sitting around. But, I do have some quality photos, as you can see by the lead above. That one is what I like to call: "Martin's thoughts on the price of the jacket." Actually, it could have been me just taking a bad photo, but I like to supply the fun inner monologue nonetheless!! :) Though, the below dialogue did happen:

Me: I don't know, I thought it flattered you.

Martin: Did he really think I was going to buy a member's only jacket? Please!!


On the last really warm and sunny day (sunday) I took some of pictures of the Arno. Which is SO beautiful. I have been lucky to see a lot of beautiful things in my life, including places like Cape Town and Machu Picchu, but there is something special about the Arno.



And then, there is the power of leather and fur, united into one jacket! And yes, it does inspire some silliness!!


Finally, I have a few thoughts on carbs. As Martin and I start planning our trip to Monaco (!!) we realize that we need to look good. And we also realize that we live in carb land. Yet, YET, most of the Italians we see are TINY. The overweight people seems to be mostly american (shocking I know). How do they do it? What secret are the Italians hiding from us? How are we going to fit into our crazy Monaco gear (bling and fur)??? These are the deep questions on my mind, and rest assured, I am on the case!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Risotto: Breakfast of Champions!


Anyway-
Martin and I have this habit. He will be looking to buy something (a shirt, a jacket...something fairly basic) and then, while on the way to look at said clothing items, we will end up buying stuff for me. I'm not always sure how it happens, and I mostly appreciate it when it does because Martin has a great eye and awesome sense of accessories, but yesterday, in the leather market I think that the smell of Italian leather went to my head as I ended up with yet another leather jacket! I mean, an awesome leather jacket (Me: Would you buy this? Martin: "Honey, if it were me I'd have already paid and walked out of the store wearing it!") which will truly help sell our fake Italian over the top Monaco look that we are planning, and one that I bargained HEARTILY for and is warmer than my other coat but still. Is it because I'm becoming more Italian that I feel the need to swath myself in yet more mis-matched shades of brown? I mean, if my inner Italian demands more leather goods, I should just roll with it, right? And why am I rambling on like this? Because we are trying to be fiscally responsible and so cooking for ourselves, hence risotto for breakfast!

And while I am on risotto, let me mention that I LOVE RISOTTO. And now Martin, after feebly fighting it, has given in and started cooking different kinds for every meal and it is AWESOME. So far we have had red wine and honey risotto, shrimp and prosecco and melon (!! awesome!) risotto, pear and peccorino, and now there is talk of some sort of sausage risotto (me, hopefully: "with honey?" Martin: "sigh. of course!") and life is awesome! And I even know how to make it! But as Martin said, it really is only on step up from soup and scarily easy. But the best part? We are now getting recipes from our favorite restaurant! We are one step closer to having them teach us to cook!! Our evil plans are slowly coming to fruition. Our code names finally MAKE SENSE!

In other news, we actually ran into people we know (that we met here, not that find me internationally--Pius you rule!) at our local pub, so are starting to feel like we belong. Our bartender even knows our regular schedule (Him: "you guys are late tonight!" Us: "What time is it? We are? Risotto!") and we are taking Italian lessons. We had two last week, and they blew my mind. Normally, in a 101 type of foreign language course, you start with present tense verbs and maybe some vocabulary. Not for us in Italiano it seems. Nope--we got Present, Imperfect, Past Perfect, and Simple Past in HOUR NUMBER 3. I'm not sure which way I'm coming or going, but apparently I'm going to do it in the present or the past. I'm terrified!! We like our teacher however, she was recommended by our landlady and is fun. And, Italian is much more forgiving than French, so there is hope for me maybe?

Finally, besides knowing people, taking lessons, and dressing well (cough, better), we feel that we are totally caught up on one of Italy's major past-times, which is aimless strolling. Our first week here we would walk around at night, and wonder where everyone was going. Why weren't we going there? How should we figure out how to get there? Where was there again? But now, we are in the know--Italians aren't going anywhere! So last night, after dinner at our local pizza joint (taking a break from risotto) we went for a stroll and felt quite Italian. We felt our wandering was properly aimless (well, to a point. I mean, we did head in the direction of gelato because this is me) and we even walked past a church! And a library! Hi Mom and Dad!

So overall--we are slowly becoming more and more Italian. And I know pictures have been requested--Martin and I are working on it, more photos (of us!) to come soon!

The picture I posted above is of another mask in Venice. But I can also get my hair to look like that if it is really humid out....

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Venezia!!


Voiceover: 2 weary travelers slowly edge out into the light of the piazza in Florence, bound for Venice, ready for-

Martin: Who are you talking too? And I think it is "One weary traveler, and one rugged guide."

Me: Really?

Martin: You still have pillow marks on your cheek.

___________________________________________________________

Ok:
1. Apologies for being MIA and generally out of touch with everyone for the last week. Our apartment situation had me pretty cranky, and also yahoo stopped delivering some emails for awhile as well. So, if I haven't responded, hit me again! *Also, a picture ban was in effect of ourselves, what with our shower situation. Pic above is our nod to requests for pictures from parents. See--Martin drew us in in the lower left! He is awesome!

2. We are back in our original apartment, WITH lighting! Electricity! AND (drumroll) water! Ahh, to be clean. We are back to living the dream!

3. Enough of that, let's talk Venice! For those of you who have met me before, many of you know that Venice is one of my favorite cities in the world. Mysterious, beautiful, unique, and full of small but surprisingly aggressive people. Martin and I both noticed that people were all for plowing through you on the narrow and packed streets of the city located between the Rialto bridge and San Marco, and for someone with as poor depth perception as I have, it was almost a recipe for disaster. Uneven pavement, crazy stairs, water everywhere, AND small people knocking into you? How are you expected to stay upright? (I mean, I did. But it was a challenge!)

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and due to a dire laundry situation, immediately commenced clothes shopping on the way to San Marco. Martin has discovered that besides being my rugged guide, traveling companion, sherpa, and compass, he is also now my stylist! Fun for him!! I ended up in a shop with an awesome but somewhat aggressive sales lady who had no problems fixing the clothes while I was putting them on, or visiting me in the dressing room regardless of my state of undress. Fun for me!! Regardless, after my AmEx card started flaming from use, Martin did tell me that I had just: "edged my way up the style ladder by a rung or two." Eventually we did indeed make it to San Marco, bags aplenty! Evidenced by a photo of the same building that Martin sketched above.

We ended up trying to do the insiders tour of the Doge's Palace (secret hallways! A chance to pretend to be on Alias!) but were brutally rebuffed twice. Down but not out, Martin discovered a whole crazy international architect exhibit, that he was like: "we are going to this! You owe me one for the shopping!" and I was like: "Hey, if they let us in I'm there! I can totally make snap judgements about international architechture!" So off we went. It was amazing! Pictures below of a few of the exhibits. I stayed less time than Martin, b/c my simple mind is easily blown, but definitely worth the visit.


And then, out of nowhere was...PIUS! Who found me wandering on the streets near San Marco. He is in Italy on a whirlwind tour, and is now in...FLORENCE. Sitting next to me actually. Friends, Pius has set a high bar. Not only did he find me in Florence where I have an address, but he found me in Venice where I was often confused. Who wants to step up to this challenge? Who? (shout out in the comments! they keep me entertained!)

Finally, following our plan of asking random people stuff, we got a restaurant recommendation from a nice shopkeeper (Us: "Where is the best place to eat in Venice?" Him: "My house." Us: "Ummm....2nd best?") and ended up eating historic Venetian cusine. It was terrifying but also awesome, and our waiter was hilarious. He choose our food for us, took pictures, and gave us his facebook address! :) Now THAT my friends, is service!

We spent our last morning doing different things, me off to Murano to buy glass, and Martin back to the exhibit. We both emerged happy but tired, and were excited to get off the train in Florence and head back to our temporary apartment. Below are pictures of a canal, Church, gondola, and some really outstanding venetian masks. My favorite quote of the night, after I told Martin I was off to bed, was his response-

Martin: "I'm going to go and slip into a beer, and maybe some fries. You know, something a little bit more comfortable...."

Friday, October 17, 2008

True Greatness

Admittedly, Italy is great at many things: Pasta for instance. Rose Prosecco. Really expensive shoes. Expansive hand gestures. Wearing 40 different pieces of non-matching leather and still managing to look stylish. Being shaped like a boot, AND selling boots.

See--I am a fan!

But, every now and then an Expat knows that you hit that wall. They call it the U-curve. First, you are on a high ("I love everyone!!") and then, reality starts to sink in ("Most people are cool I guess") until finally, you bottom (hee!) out at the bottom of the U ("What don't these people get about CUSTOMER SERVICE??? (brussels only really) And WHY ARE THEIR SHOES SO SMALL!!") We have all been there. Eventually, you do go back up ("I want to marry this country and have pasta shaped babies with it!!") and all is well.

But oh, the bottom. Oh yes. That, my friends, is where you start to appreciate the things about your native land, and become a little teary-eyed when the local foriegn pub somehow starts playing Kenny Loggins on the loudspeaker. That is when, while sitting on your cafe stool, hanging out because your apartment has, in steady succession, lost hot water, power, and then all attempts at functioning plumbing, you realize the greatness of your home. And in the case of the US of A, there are many things that we do well. But above all, as god as my witness, WE HAVE GREAT PLUMBING! Toilets that flush, loudly and with power. Showers that not only give you water (hot! steaming even!!) but also water pressure!! Electricity that works, ALL the time. Lights that flip on and stay on. Meaning that you spend a large majority of your time clean and happy, seeing everything in your apartment, and LIVING THE DREAM!

To Americans and America everywhere, let me just say a heartfelt Bravo.

We thank you.

That is all.

c.

PS: And now we are off to Venice since our experience this week is more "13th Century" Tuscany than "Mondern Times." When you do not have water where better to go than a city BUILT on water we say! In the interim, we are shortly being moved into a temporary apartment, and look forward to seeing our palazzo (in the light of electric light) when it is repaired and we return. Showered and clean. Ahh, the good life. And a shout out to Sarah--we HAVE found our version of the Stick and Weasel, and it is EVEN BETTER.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Mission: Pasta Storm









Scene: 2 Americans shiftily approach a small, but outstanding, Italian restaurant.

Restaurant Owner: Ehhh...Bonjourno! Waait. You are...Martino?

American 1 (Call Sign: "Cheeks MD"): Yes, Yes! Hello! Ca Va! Er....Umm, Hello!

American 2 (Call Sign: "Boots McFee"): ?

RO: Come in--here is good? (Points at table)

Cheeks: Wonderful. Grazie! (They sit)

Boots (stares suspiciously over menu): Are they onto us yet?

Cheeks: They will be if you keep staring at them like that.

Boots: But our idea is GENIUS! It's crazy to pay for cooking lessons when you can just stalk a restaurant until they adopt you and teach you to cook for free!

Cheeks: Let's just stick to the plan tonight Boots. We'll wait till they close, buy them a round, and broach the idea.

Boots: Ok, well then: Prosecco Emergency! (Points to empty glass)

Cheeks: [Deep sigh].

(2 hours later)

RO: And how was everything?

Cheeks: Amazing! Thank you!

Boots: (darts shifty glances at other restaurant patrons who appear to be sticking around past close) ...

RO: Well, have a limoncello on the house! For you!

Boots: ! !!!! (whispers excitedly) We're in!

Cheeks: Slow down there tiger.

(20 minutes later)

Boots: (Confusedly) Is he coming back?

(10 minutes later)

Cheeks: Hmmmm. I think we have a long road ahead. Let's just say goodbye, and come back again soon.

(they walk out towards owner)

RO: Ahh, well, come again! Martino, yes? And....your name is?

Boots: Christie.

RO: Chrisss-tie!

Cheeks: Well, thanks for a great evening...Paulo (?)

RO: Umm....Paulo? (confused look) My name is Nickolai.

(walks away)

Boots/Cheeks (Stare at each other and start giggling): Damn. Well, there goes that in!

(End scene)

We did however, get friended by our favorite bartender on facebook at our favorite non-local pub. so it's not all 15 steps back!

Voiceover: Next up on the Adventures of Boots McFee and Cheeks MD
1. What happened with the 6 Hawaiians?
2. Who found the Rose Prosecco?
3. Who, exactly, swing-danced with whom at the Ferragamo Palazzo? And why was someone wearing flip flops?
4. Will Batman be able to reach his bat utility belt in time?

Tune in next time! And Follow me! (see posting below!)

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Follow Me?


I know.

Famous Last Words.

But, somehow Martin became a follower of my blog without me knowing how? or what? But then I signed on anyway, because blogger told me it would be fun. And, I'm not willing to fight blogger. Europeans who repeatedly try and run me over? Maybe. People who wear lots of acid washed denim? Most likely. But blogger--definitely not!

So, become a follower! I'm not really sure how it all works, but because I have evil plans involving blogs in my future anyway, I figured it would be good to check out. So that note, if you enjoy the blog, or find it interesting and worthy of more than one read, then show the love and follow me!* The link is on the upper right hand corner. Whoo! (Whuuu!)


*I'm not saying I will be personally offended if you don't choose to follow me, but I may stop responding to emails. Or answering your calls. And start referring to you as that person I used to know. What was your name again? :)

Friday, October 10, 2008

Becoming Italian: Part 2


So ok-
Prior to posting I wanted to thank everyone who has commented so far. I love the comments! You are all hilarious! Keep commenting! Whoooo! Yay!!

Photo is one Martin took of me doing my best to appear (in the dark, from far away, if you squint and have been drinking) as an Italian woman. We have decided, after a solid week of careful and intensive observation, that it takes a few things to successfully make the transition from American to Italian (besides speaking the language or carrying the passport) and they are the following:
1. Swathing yourself in leather
2. Mixing your browns! All shades can go together here! And black too!
3. Wearing heels. Always. And stomping them fiercely a la America's Next Top Model on the stones of Florence as you walk by.

So, the transition begins! We also had some fun taking photos around the Ponte Vecchio both day and night, and so the remainder of this post will be mostly photos, unless genius strikes me.

A small soliliquoy (sp?) on running in Florence: Yes, few do it. Most point and stare confusedly as you run past (running? expansive gesture--in Firenze? expansive gesture--but why? Prego??), though one enterprising young gentlemen did high-five me and that I appreciated! But, you do take your life in your hands; though, as someone who faced the dash of death in India, I feel that I'm up to the challenge. And more importantly, Martin is also up to the challenge of keeping me alive. Which, as we've discovered, is pretty much a 24/7 job. Thanks Martin!!

Ok: The Duomo as seen from an Alley:


A close up of a cool door I saw

Our cheese lady's cart in the local market. We have a cheese lady!


The Arno where I run, also some taken of/from bridges near the Ponte Vecchio

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

The Italian Language, or Not Just Adding an "O!"



The picture is of special agent Fredericko, or, as I sometimes like to call him, Irwin (Taken at our favorite pizza restaurant. Anyone who comes to visit will be eating here!).

So, more pictures of both of us to come soon as requested from Mom, and Martin has taken some WONDERFUL ones of the city and accidentally of me that are on his flicker site. One day I hope to have that link and when I do, as god as my witness, I will forward it on. Probably. After some editing.

But ok, so Martin and I have been struggling to pick up some Italian, any Italian, of any sort. We both keep reverting to terrible TERRIBLE French. We are working on convincing some poor local of some sort to teach us something. Help us out. PLEASE HELP US. But so far, nothing in the works. And our back up plan of becoming friends with Italians and learning the language that way has failed, in that there aren't any Italians actually in Florence. So, last night, after a truly awesome pizza we...just....gave up and spent some quality time planning our trip to Monaco. Martin has decided that he is going to buy a linen suit and some gold chains, while I myself will be unveiling a variety of cocktail dresses and possibly a fake southern accent. And, we will be inflicting our terrible French on the french people--long may they prosper! Bonjour! Ca Va! Oui! Way to be a language taught in the US Public School System! Whooo! (Or "Whuuuu!" if I was saying it in my fake French accent). We are super excited.

So tonight (wed) we are meeting our first friend! A Hungarian woman most recently from DC (she loves americans! we love people who love americans! adopt us!), we met her in the Piazza St. Croce after meeting her friends (random Irish and German students) in one of our local bars. We now talk to anyone near us who speaks any sort of English whether they want to meet us or not, and so we were invited by the aforementioned EU conglomorate to meet up with some more of their friends. And now we have a friend! It's all very exciting.

Anyway, below are some more random shots that may or may not be:
1. Taken from the window of my room
2. Of the Arno from the Ponte Vecchio
3. Martin

Ciao!

Monday, October 6, 2008

Becoming Italian: Part 1


Actually-
There is no becoming Italian so far. Florence is full of---foreigners! We are just but a few. The real Italians seem to have sensibly gone into hiding to avoid the pressing weight of tourists. But we are onto them! They cannot hide forever!

Our plan:
1. Talk to anyone sitting near us, in the hope that they will adopt us (has worked once so far!)
2. Take a cooking class, hopefully given by a local
3. Gesture expansively whenever trying to speak Italian (it helps!)
4. Purchase new shoes (not actually relevant, but fun!)
5. Address Martin as "Frederikco" in an attempt to sound local. (Note: This is only fun for me).

Pictures so far!
Sometimes you run around Arlington County Library on your morning job...sometimes, you around the Duomo!!

Then there are the frescos on your living room ceiling: